All things bookish!

It’s been a good-ish week for reading although there’s only one review for you.  This has been more of a writing week than a reading week though.  I’ve started working through The Artist’s Way: A Course in Discovering and Recovering Your Creative Self so have been doing a lot of writing and thinking.  I haven’t written anything truly creative yet – it’s mostly been stream-of-consciousness whining but I’m telling myself that this will come in time.  I’ve also signed up for a short OU course on creative writing – Start Writing Fiction – which begins in May although I may have to postpone until October if family things don’t go according to plan.

I seem to be much more restrained when it comes to acquisitions at the moment.  I won’t say I’m on a book diet but I have stopped automatically buying books for rewards and treats.  As a result, there are only two newcomers to my library this week

For the week ahead I’m going to continue alternating Christian fiction with Christian non-fiction as my Lenten practice.  I have to confess that this restriction is beginning to chafe now.  It has made me much more conscious of some of the wonderful secular books which are waiting on me.  I suppose it’s like a food diet – as soon as you say ‘no more chocolate’ that becomes the one thing you crave.

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Amy Clipston – A Gift of Grace – 2011/012

Incoming Books:

  1. Alexander McCall Smith – Blue Shoes and Happiness: The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agence Volume 7 (No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency) [BookMooch]
  2. J B Priestley – An Inspector Calls and Other Plays (Penguin Modern Classics) [Purchase]

The Week Ahead:

  1. Carolyn Custis James – Half the Church: Recapturing God’s Global Vision for Women [Currently Reading]
  2. Claire Connor with G P Taylor – The Promise (Lipstick Confessions 2)
  3. Noel Cooper – What Makes Us Whole: Finding God in Contemporary Life
  4. Victoria Bylin – The Bounty Hunter’s Bride (Love Inspired Historical)
  5. Douglas Leblanc – Tithing (Ancient Practices)
  6. Erin Healy – The Promises She Keeps
  7. Tom Wright – Surprised by Hope

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in March 2011 by I’m Booking It.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (27)

  1. You have an ambitious week planned, enjoy your books and have a fabulous week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-32.html

    • laura0141 said:

      Thanks Jennifer. I won’t get through all seven books – I just like to know they’re there 🙂

  2. wow volume 7 already. I just read the first book. Unfortunately, the local publisher does not continue the series again.

    I hope you enjoy them all

    What I am reading

  3. I’m not supposed to buying any new books either – but my local charity bookshop closed last week and they had a sale – well I had to go and have a look didn’t I?? 2 visits and half a dozen books later……………… I read An Inspector Calls for my O Level English course.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Purchases from charity shops don’t count as it’s for a good cause! I read An Inspector Calls for school also. I’d like to revisit it now for a writing project I’m playing with 🙂

  4. Nice list of books you have planned there. I like the sound of Blue Shoes and Happiness. Enjoy reading!

    Here’s my Mailbox for this week.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Have you read any of The No. One Ladies Detective Agency, Majanka? They’re very good.

  5. It looks like you’ll be doing lots of reading this week! Enjoy!

  6. Great list of books! Hope you enjoy them all….

    I haven’t read Alexander McCall-Smith yet, but I have the first Ladies’ Detective Agency book on my stacks.

    Have a great week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

    • laura0141 said:

      I recommend the Ladies’ Detective Agency books. I’m actually thinking I may go for a re-read before starting the one I’ve just got …

  7. While I haven’t read any of the McCall SMith books I know lots of folks love them. Enjoy all your books!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Yep, I’m one of that number, Kim. Do give him a try if you get the chance 🙂

  8. Oh a writing course – I hope you blog about it. I would love to do that!

    • laura0141 said:

      Hadn’t thought about blogging it, Sheila but I’ll certainly have a think now you’ve mentioned it.

  9. Have a successful week of reading. A couple of your reads are on my radar.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks Nise’ – I’m looking forward to my books this week. Do you ever feel hungry for reading?

  10. Oooh, a No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency book! I have the first 5 books in the series, but I haven’t read any of them yet. I just know I’m going to love them. Can’t wait to read your review of that one!

    • notjustlaura said:

      If you haven’t read any of them yet you’re in for a treat, Kate – enjoy!

  11. I’m on Spring Break. Will I find the balance between reading for fun and reading for my project? Come see .

  12. I have the first Ladies Detective Agency book but haven’t read it yet. I did see a few episodes of HBO series though and loved them.

    • laura0141 said:

      I think I’ve seen a bit of it on TV and I’ve heard a little of a BBC Radio 4 serial but I much prefer reading 🙂 You’re in for a treat when you come to read the book, Beth.

  13. Enjoy your new books!

  14. One of these days I’m going to read those No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency books. I hear they are very good.

Leave a comment