All things bookish!

Well, it’s been a long time, hasn’t it?  I don’t really know why I stopped blogging about the books I read.  2012 was the year of the re-read and I think that had a lot to do with it.  And I was knitting a lot.  And I wasn’t so well.  Whatever the reason I’d like to get back to it now, please.  I have more books than ever before but the same 24 hours in a day (lots of which seem to be claimed by entities other than books!)  I’m telling myself it’s all just a question of balance but really I’d like to borrow some time.  So if you know anyone with a glut of time please do point them my way!

Now all good intentions begin with a plan, don’t they?  So here are my (very tenuous) reading plans for the week ahead.

I’m working my way through Douglas Stuart and Gordon Fee’s How to Read the Bible Book by Book and reading through the New Living Translation as I do so.  I’m in the middle of the Psalms just now and looking forward to Proverbs.  Those pithy little statements always speak to me.  I’ve been working on this since the autumn and am content just to work slowly through it till I come to Revelation.  I’ve never read the whole Bible before – I’ve tried several different reading plans but get frustrated when I miss a day and fall behind.  Reading it this way – like any other chunkster (is that blasphemous?) – is working well and I’m confident that I will get there in the end.  I’m counting these as two of my week’s books even though I’m obviously not going to finish them this week or read them to the exclusion of other material.

The third book project type thing I have is Priscilla Shirer’s The Resolution for Women.  I’m very taken with this book and have decided to just read a tiny bit at a time and make the changes I think will be helpful before moving on to the next bit.  This is pretty much what Ms Shirer suggests in her introduction so everybody’s happy.  At the moment, I’m working on not napping during the day.  This is especially hard in the mornings (a fun side-effect of medication) so if you’ve time and inclination please whisper a prayer for me!  When staying up is more of a habit than slinking back under the covers I’ll move on to the next bite.

Book four for this week is one that I will be reading right through, hopefully over the next couple of days.  It’s a reread and one I’m looking forward to even though I know there’s one bit that will make me cry.  Tolstoy and the Purple Chair is Nina Sankovitch’s account of the year she spent reading (and reviewing) one book every day.  Now that’s way beyond my capabilities but I can’t think of a better book with which to encourage myself back into reading and reviewing.

I’ve already started book five – John Jakes’ Heaven and Hell.  I read the first two parts of the trilogy towards the end of last year and am looking forward to this conclusion.  It’s another chunkster but an easy read which should take two or three days to complete.

Following on from Tolstoy, I’m lining up another book about books with How to Read a Book.  Mortimer Adler and Charles van Doren wrote this years ago – I think it was first published in the year I was born – so I’m concerned it may be very dated.  But I’ve been meaning to read it for ages and now is a good time to give it a whirl.  It’s book six and I’m not sure I’ll get to it this week (apparently the cats expect me to feed them and my mother would like to me to speak to her at some point) but it should at least move up the list.

The final book I’ve chosen for this week (and, again, I may well slip into next) is a review copy of The Forbidden Queen by Anne O’Brien.  This will be published by Mira in March 2013.  I know I have another of Ms O’Brien’s books on my shelves so when I saw this book on NetGalley I thought I’d give it a try.  I’ve planned a lot of rather heavy reading for this week so if I do make it to book seven I’ll have earned something restful and, with its beautiful cover, this book promises to be that.

Now – It’s Monday!  What are you reading?

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you reading?" (1)

  1. You do have some big plans for the week. I seldom read the sort of book that I need to read just a bit of each day. I am more likely to pick something I can read quickly and move on. By the way, napping in the morning sounds good to me. I wonder if my employer will let me? My Monday report is here. Stop by if you get a chance and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

