All things bookish!

The Back of the Book (from Amazon):  Eat food. Mostly plants. Not too much.

Using those seven words as his guide, Michael Pollan offers this indispensable handbook for anyone concerned about health and food. Simple, sensible and easy to use, Food Rules is a set of memorable adages or ‘personal policies’ for eating wisely, gathered from a wide variety of sources: mothers, grandmothers, nutritionists, anthropologists and ancient cultures among them.

Whether at the supermarket, a restaurant or an all-you-can-eat buffet, this handy, pocket-size resource is the perfect manual for anyone who would like to become more mindful of the food we eat.

NotJustLaura’s Review:  This is the first time I’ve bought a Kindle book and then realised I’d rather have a paper copy.  Food Rules is a bite-sized version of Pollan’s more detailed work In Defence of Food.  It says basically the same things but without the discussion and lots of facts to back up the precepts.  I’ve read both of them and really wish I had the paper copy of this little book to keep in my bag to chew on when I’m bored at bus-stops.  Even more intriguingly, bits of what I’ve read have stuck with me and I’m making changes to the way I shop and eat.  Well done, Mr Pollan!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

