All things bookish!

The Back of the Book (from Amazon):  Darkover, a planet of wonder, world of mystery, has been a favourite of science fiction readers for many years. For it is a truly alien sphere – a world of strange intelligences of brooding skies beneath a ruddy sun, and of powers unknown to Earth. In this new novel, Mario Zimmer Bradley tells of the original coming of the Earthmen, of the days when Darkover knew not humanity. This is the full bodied novel of what happened when a colonial starship crashlanded on that uncharted planet to encounter for the first time in human existence the impact of the Ghost Wind, of the psychic currents that were native only to that world, and of the price that every Earthling must pay before Darkover can claim for itself.

NotJustLaura’s Review:  When I realised how long it’d been since I read any fiction, I knew I needed something good to capture my imagination so I decided to (re)read the Darkover series.  This is something I’ve attempted in the past but I couldn’t get through the (borrowed) books quickly enough and had to send them back only partially read.  Today, I have my Kindle and the books are available at very reasonable prices – particularly as I can see myself re-reading a few years hence.  I’ve decided to read in the order of the series’ chronology rather than by publication date so I get a real experience of the ‘history’ Bradley created.

Darkover Landfall is the introduction to the series although not the first published.  It’s shorter than some of the other volumes and lacks the intricate plot and complex characters Bradley can write so well.  That said, I still found it a magical reading experience as I entered into a world where a spaceship has crashed on an unknown planet and strange flowers cause the awakening of telepathic powers among the crew …

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

