All things bookish!

The Back of the Book (from Amazon):  Tom Violet always thought that by the time he turned thirty-five, he’d have everything going for him. Fame. Fortune. A beautiful wife. A satisfying career as a successful novelist. A happy dog to greet him at the end of the day.

The reality, though, is far different. He’s got a wife, but their problems are bigger than he can even imagine. And he’s written a novel, but the manuscript he’s slaved over for years is currently hidden in his desk drawer while his father, an actual famous writer, just won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. His career, such that it is, involves mind-numbing corporate buzzwords, his pretentious archnemesis Gregory, and a hopeless, completely inappropriate crush on his favorite coworker. Oh . . . and his dog, according to the vet, is suffering from acute anxiety.

Tom’s life is crushing his soul, but he’s decided to do something about it. (Really.) Domestic Violets is the brilliant and beguiling story of a man finally taking control of his own happiness—even if it means making a complete idiot of himself along the way.

NotJustLaura’s Comments:  I requested and received a digital copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.  Unfortunately, I was unable to finish the book (I didn’t make it through the first chapter, actually) so can only comment here on why it wasn’t the right book for me.  The opening scene is, I think, designed to shock as the reader is welcomed into the bedroom of a couple trying to conceive and given a fairly explicit account of their … ummm … activities.  In a previous life, I’d have found it funny rather than shocking and perhaps that was the author’s intent.  We got off on the wrong foot, however, and as I progressed through the chapter I didn’t find myself feeling any more comfortable so I decided to stop as my thoughts were stuck on ‘Why am I reading this?’  ‘I don’t read books like this.’  ‘I don’t read chick lit.’

And that’s the bottom line.  When I read the descriptions of this book, I zeroed in on it being about a writer having a bit of a mid-life crisis when his father wins the Pullitzer.  What I got was the opening of what may be a very good chick lit book.  And I don’t read chick lit.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

