All things bookish!

Booking Through Thursday

All other thing being equal, would you rather read a book that’s hard/challenging/rewarding or light/enjoyable/easy?

I think there are degrees of difficulty and what challenges me one day may seem easier the next.  On the whole, I tend to hang around the harder end of the spectrum with forays into the middle now and again.  I don’t really like very easy books – I perceive them as often being poorly written.

“Why?” is the next obvious question, isn’t it?  And that prompts me to tell you why I read in the first place.  I’ve always been a reader and have always used printed pages to escape.  Today I read for pleasure and enjoy the sense of achievement I feel on finishing a not-so-easy book.  I also read for distraction (from mental health problems) and very easy books don’t require enough effort for this to work.

However, there are books which are just too difficult for me to enjoy the experience of reading them.  I don’t coerce myself to read what I don’t enjoy very often (perhaps I should?) and there is a point beyond which I don’t feel comfortable going.  Yet.  Who knows what the future may hold?

* * *

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly blog event.

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday" (5)

  1. I completely agree regarding degrees of difficulty! 🙂

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday post. 🙂

  2. There is a definite sense of achievement when you finish a hard book. I read for distraction too (I have a neurological condition) but with me the world of the book is more important than how challenging it is. If I can lose myself in the book, it’s good.

    My BTT is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  3. Distraction is a great reason to read, if not hard, at least harder books. Some days we read for fun… some to shut up the brain and have a little escapism.

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday ~ House Millar series

    Aine

  4. See, I don’t necessarily choose a book because it’s easy or hard, I choose a book because I want to read it.

    What was the most challenging book you’ve ever read? Because it seems you read quite a few hard ones!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

