All things bookish!

As I continue to try and balance my life, I’m finding myself drawn to Benedictine spirituality so you’ll find some books on the Rule in my lists.  I’m also facing some health problems just now so I’m reading without reviewing (I love blogging but some things are meant to be private).  These books will still come through the lists from ‘Incoming’ to ‘Read’ so I can keep my tally but they’ll just be listed as ‘Book on a Personal Topic’.  I’m not actually sure there will be any in this batch but it’s just so as you know.  You know?

As I’ve been working on this post and getting back into my reading, I’ve just passed my 52 Books in a Year target.  As I tried and failed to get 100 last year I’m very pleased to have set a realistic goal and stuck to it this year.  As I said on FaceBook a few moments ago: I wonder if I can make it to 75 by the end of the year?

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Joshua Harris – Boy Meets Girl – 2011/046
  2. English Benedictine Congregation – The Oblate Life – 2011/047
  3. Joshua Harris – Not Even a Hint – 2011/048
  4. John McQuiston II – Always We Begin Again2011/049
  5. Abbott Christopher Jamison – Finding Sanctuary  – 2011/050
  6. St Benedict – The Rule of St Benedict – 2011/051
  7. Harry Bernstein – The Invisible Wall  – 2011/DNF
  8. Joshua Harris – Dug Down Deep  – 2011/052
  9. Clive Cussler – Pacific Vortex – 2011/053
  10. Mgr Bruce Harbert – Companion to the Order of Mass – 2011/054
  11. Karen Armstrong – Through the Narrow Gate – 2011/055 [Reread]
  12. Fulton J Sheen – Life of Christ – 2011/DNF
  13. Max Lucado – God’s Story, Your Story – 2011/056
  14. Niall Ferguson – The Ascent of Money – 2011/057
  15. Rowan Williams – Silence and Honey Cakes – 2011/058

Incoming Books:

  1. English Benedictine Congregation – The Oblate Life – [Purchase][Kindle]
  2. Natalie Goldberg – Wild Mind – [NetGalley][Kindle]
  3. John McQuiston II – Always We Begin Again – [Purchase][Kindle]
  4. Lisa Bevere – Kissed the Girls and Made Them Cry – [Purchase][Paperback][Reread]
  5. Various – The Benedictine Handbook – [Purchase][Hardback]
  6. Martin Lewis – Thrifty Ways for Modern Days – [Purchase][Paperback][Reread]
  7. Martin Lewis – The Three Most Important Lessons You’ve Never Been Taught – [Purchase][Paperback]
  8. Martin Lewis – The Money Diet – [Purchase][Paperback][Reread]
  9. Paullina Simons – Tully – [BookMooch][Paperback]
  10. Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall – River Cottage Veg Everyday! – [Purchase][Hardback]
  11. Catholic Truth Society – The Order of Mass – [Gift][Paperback]
  12. Elizabeth Buchan – Sep[arate Beds – [Library][Hardback]
  13. Lisa Bevere – Lioness Arising – [Purchase][Paperback]
  14. Esther de Waal – Living with Contradiction – [Purchase][Paperback]
  15. Book on a Personal Topic – [Purcahse][Hardback]
  16. Jeffrey Archer – Only Time Will Tell – [Purchase][Paperback]
  17. Book on a Personal Topic – [Purchase][Kindle]
  18. Joshua Harris – Dug Down Deep – [Purchase][Paperback]
  19. Dave Bookless – God Doesn’t Do Waste – [Purchase][Paperback]
  20. Peter S Books – The Alchemy of Chance – [Purchase][Paperback]
  21. Joshua Harris – Not Even a Hint – [Purchase][Hardback]
  22. Rowan Williams – Silence and Honey Cakes – [Purchase][Kindle]
The Week Ahead:
  1. J John – Ten [Currently Reading]
  2. Margaret Leroy – The Soldier’s Wife
  3. Carl Anderson – Called to Love
  4. Matthew Norman – Domestic Violets
  5. Tom Wright – Surprised by Hope
  6. Katherine Webb – The Legacy
  7. Rebecca Ash – The New Spend Less Revolution

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in October 2011 by Savvy Verse and Wit.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (8)

  1. I have heard great things about several of the books you have listed above especially The Soldiers Wife. Have a great week and i look forward to seeing what you have read by next week. You make me want to read faster! 😀

  2. I hope your health problems aren’t serious. Have a great week of reading!

  3. Hope your health issues are minor and you can enjoy your reading.

  4. I read Separate Beds awhile ago…I remember enjoying it. I’m curious about Domestic Violets and The Soldier’s Wife.

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. Enjoy your books!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  5. Sorry to hear about your health concerns. I hope all is resolved soon. The Soldier’s Wife is a wonderful book. Have a wonderful week, Laura, and happy reading!

  6. I hope that your health issues are remedied…Enjoy your books and reading time.

  7. Sorry to hear of your health problems. i hope they are resolved soon. I love Only Time Will Tell. It is a wonderful family saga. I am looking forward to the book in the series. Take care and happy reading!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

