All things bookish!

The Back of the Book (from Amazon):  Fully armed and with all hands on board, the nuclear submarine Starbuck sailed into the calm Pacific Ocean for sea trials – and vanished. No wreckage, no signals, no survivors: nothing . . . until ace maritime troubleshooter Dirk Pitt finds a single, chilling clue in the shark-torn surf off Hawaii – the log of the Starbuck.’Do not search for us, it can only end in vain . . . ‘ A crazed journal of madness and death is all that remains. And the Captain’s final, scrawled, fear-crazed note locates the Starbuck’s grave hundreds of miles from her last known position! The search for the Starbuck plunges Dirk Pitt into his most shattering assignment to date – a whirlpool of deep-sea mystery and terror – the Pacific Vortex!

NotJustLaura’s Review:  I was first given a set of Mr Cussler’s Dirk Pitt adventures by my Grandfather way back in the 1980s.  I read them till they fell apart having fallen ‘in love’ with Dirk and cast myself as the heroine of each instalment.  Every now and again, I like to relive a bit of my youth and re-read books which were special to me at specific points in my life so I’ve started a re-read of the series now with Pacific Vortex – the first chronologically although I believe not the first to see publication.  With the Cold War over and the rise of political correctness this book shows its age and some of Pitt’s exchanges with women made me cringe (especially when I thought of my youthful reactions to the text!) but this is still an engaging adventure and an illustration of Western history.  I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the series – although they’ll probably make me blush!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

