All things bookish!

It hasn’t been my best week reading-wise.  I’ve one reread (which was fabulous but not exactly stretching) and two DNFs both of which are really ‘Did not Start’s.  Meantime, I’ve a whole bundle of books coming in and have, in consequence, have had to record a loss of £7 on my rewardage chart.  The number of books in my life is going up instead of down!

So what’s gone wrong?  Well, basically, my mood’s really unstable at the moment and I keep veering off into the Land of Bounce.  When I go there, I tend to leave my concentration behind and that makes reading difficult.  I’ve not reached the point where I read anyway to keep myself safe and, to be honest, I’d rather not go there – feeling unsafe isn’t my favourite thing.

Instead of reading, I’ve been watching too much TV and playing pointless (and addictive) games on my iPad.  Often while watching TV.  Up to a point, I’m OK with that.  We all need a bit of downtime.  But it’s not how I want to live my life.  So here’s to a better reading week.  And stability.  Yes, stability would be very, very good.

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Eric & Leslie Ludy – When Dreams Come True – 2011/041 [Reread]
  2. Kasey Michaels – The Taming of the Rake – 2011/DNF
  3. John Griffiths – Tea – 2011/DNF

Incoming Books:

  1. St Benedict – Rule of St.Benedict – [Kindle][Purchase]
  2. Joshua Harris – Boy Meets Girl: Say Hello to Courtship – [Kindle][Purchase]
  3. Robert Graves – I, Claudius (Penguin Classics) – [Paperback][BookMooch]
  4. Lorna Barrett – Murder Is Binding (Booktown Mysteries) – [Paperback][Purchase]
  5. Cathy Kelly – Homecoming – [Paperback][BookMooch]
  6. Sue Bender – Plain and Simple: A Woman’s Journey to the Amish (Ohio) – [Paperback][Purchase]
  7. Colin Beavan – No Impact Man: Saving the Planet One Family at a Time: Saving the World, One Family at a Time – [Paperback][Purchase]
  8. David Bezmozgis – The Free World – [Paperback][Purchase]
  9. Harry Bernstein – The Invisible Wall – [Hardback][Library]
  10. John Bevere – Drawing Near – [Paperback][Purchase]
The Week Ahead:
  1. Johnnie Moore – Honestly – [Review][Currently Reading]
  2. Margaret Leroy The Soldier’s Wife – [Review]
  3. Sara Horn – My My So-Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife[Review]
  4. Matthew Norman – Domestic Violets (P.S.)[Review]
  5. Lorilee Craker – Money Secrets of the Amish: Finding True Abundance in Simplicity, Sharing, and Saving[Review]
  6. Katherine Webb – The Legacy[Review]
  7. Max Lucado – GODS STORY YOUR STORY PB [Review]

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in August 2011 by Life in the Thumb.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (11)

  1. Have a wonderful week, a great collection of books there on your list.

    Here’s my “It’s Monday! What are you reading?” post.

  2. Plain and Simple is a great book for re-focusing on important things. Maybe it will help tamp down the distractions.

    Here’s my post for this week: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? And don’t forget to sign up for the Readerbuzz August Giveaway!

  3. I didn’t get much reading done last week either because I went to visit my mom. Most of your new books are new to me. I hope you love them all.

  4. Cozies are my favorites. Love Lorna Barrett!! Need to investigate the rest!

    Have a great week!!

  5. The Soldier’s Wife – a wonderful read. I hope you enjoy it. You got some great books on your list. Have a wonderful week and enjoy your new books.

  6. I hear you on stability!!! Here’s to this week being better!!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting and for your comment, Staci. At the moment, I’d give my left leg to get back into the middle of my mood chart. All these ups and downs are wearing my patience thin.

  7. I read The Invisible Wall a while ago and enjoyed it. The author’s story is interesting!

  8. Domestic Violets sure is everywhere these days. I will have to check it out. You have many books on your lists that I have never heard of. I will have to look them up. Happy reading!

  9. Here’s hoping for a less bouncy week. A hot bath and a good book works for me — it’s relaxing AND gets me in the reading groove.

  10. I am listening to Domestic Violets now … it’s good and humorous too.

    When I lose the concentration, and it does happen to everyone, I put the book aside, go out in the garden or for a walk. Anything to break things up. Even pointless video games!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

