All things bookish!

The Back of the Book (from FantasticFiction):  Meet the Blackthorn brothers – Three unrepentant scoundrels infamous for being mad, bad and perilous to love.

Charming, wealthy and wickedly handsome, Oliver “Beau” Blackthorn has it all.except revenge on the enemy he can’t forget. Now the opportunity for retribution has fallen into his hands. But his success hinges on Lady Chelsea Mills-Beckman – the one woman with the power to distract him from his quest.

Desperate to escape her family’s control, Lady Chelsea seizes the chance to run off with the notorious eldest Blackthorn brother, knowing she’s only a pawn in his game. But as Beau draws her deep into a world of intrigue, danger and explosive passion, does she dare hope he’ll choose love over vengeance?

NotJustLaura’s Comments:  I requested a digital review copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley.

It’s really rather mean of me to mark this book as DNF which I didn’t actually make any attempt to read it.  But I don’t want to add another acronym to my portfolio (DNStart would be appropriate I think) but I do want to account for it leaving the To Be Read list.

So, what went wrong?  Well, for starters, I requested it by accident.  I saw it advertised and clicked through for, I thought, further information.  The link actually took me to NetGalley and automatically processed a ‘request’ for a galley and and ‘acceptance’ from the publisher.  So I figured I might as well add it to the pile and give it a shot.

Then I DNFed Notorious and started to question the sexual content of the romance books I read.  And The Taming of the Rake (Blackthorn Brothers Novels) came to the top of the pile.  I looked at the cover.  And I noted that it comes from the same publisher and I just didn’t feel comfortable beginning it.  I didn’t want to enjoy the beginning and then have to abandon it.  So I decided not to start.  Which is kind of sad since I don’t know that the book would have been sensualised but feels like the right decision.

Comments on: "Kasey Michaels – The Taming of the Rake – 2011/DNF" (1)

  1. I suspect you are right in your assessment of the book.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

