All things bookish!

Amazon Product Description

Eric Ludy calls believers to put a stop to an alarming trend in today’s church. Contemporary culture has accused Christians of being politically incorrect, unloving, and narrow–minded in their devotion to God and His Word. And the church has unwittingly played right along:

  • It has grown to have more in common with the world than with Christ
  • It seems more concerned about pleasing men than God
  • It sets aside the pursuit of eternal truth for the pursuit of temporal pleasures

How serious is the problem, and what are the solutions? What does a bravehearted kind of Christianity look like?

Eric presents the Christianity of the Bible as the most explosive, most vibrant, most extraordinary force on Earth—a force meant to bring glory to the Most High God and turn people’s hearts in His direction. After reading The Bravehearted Gospel, no Christian will ever want to go back to “Christianity as usual”!

NotJustLaura’s Review:  My reading at the moment is ‘reading for therapy’ rather than reading to learn or reading for pleasure and this review will reflect that.  I have Bipolar Disorder and am experiencing an episode of elevated mood and anxiety which is being treated with extra medication (makes me dozy and dull-minded) and distraction (enter the reading).  I’m reading a lot at the moment (mainly because it’s a safe, risk-free activity that stops my mind saying things like ‘I wonder what’d happen if I …’ and my body trotting off to find out.  The quality of my reading suffers at these times.  I read lots but don’t really absorb the message and The Bravehearted Gospel deserves better than I can give it at present.  However, I have read it so I may as well tell you what I think.

In this book, Mr Ludy attempts to overcome the feminisation of the modern Church.  He spends the first 30% of the book (I read on the Kindle) setting the reader up for the main event and I really felt this section, while beautifully presented, was too long.  If it had been shorter then he would have had more time to address those areas he mentioned as ‘important but out of scope’ in the closing chapters.  My basic impression is that Mr Ludy is right.  There has been a pendulum swing within the Church towards the ‘womanly’ attributes of belief and this has been at the expense of the ‘manly’.  The answer can’t be a return to Victorian tradition since this was also a swing of the pendulum so it has to be something new.  With this is mind, Mr Ludy looks at some of the new, ’emergent’ themes in Christian thought and finds them wanting.  He names and shames a couple of well-known Christian authors and, while I haven’t yet checked the references he gives, I’ll certainly be reading their work with new eyes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

