All things bookish!

Again, it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve updated you with a reading round-up.

My father’s had four ‘stents’ placed into his heart and is at home again although he won’t be allowed to drive for a while.   And life is getting back to normal which, for me, means lots of reading!

I’ve read four books recently (most of them this week, actually) and am proud to report that my backlog of ‘books to be reviewed’ has been cleared.  I’ve still got books to be reviewed, I don’t claim to have none, but they came in this week so I’m not stressing about them.  I set myself the goal of reading 52 books this year and I’m pleased to see that the year is half gone and I’m half-way there 🙂

Talking of incoming books, you’ll see that I have a whopping count of 10 incomers this week!  Looking at things from a book diet perspective, that rather cancels out the four that I’ve read!  Ah well, I’ve deducted £6 (have decided to do away with the 50p a book tariff, £1 is easier and more motivating) from my rewardage chart and shall try harder this week!

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Dorothy Love – Beyond All Measure – 2011/024
  2. Lisa Napoli – Radio Shangri-La – 2011/025
  3. Leslie Ludy – Authentic Beauty – 2011/026 (Reread)
  4. Lee Janogly – Stop Bingeing! – 2011/0-27 (Reread)
Incoming Books:
  1. Max Lucado – God’s Story, Your Story: When His Becomes Yours (Story, The) – NetGalley
  2. Fulton J Sheen – Life of Christ – Purchase
  3. Johnnie Moore – Honestly – NetGalley
  4. John Paul II – Theology of the Body Human: Love in the Divine Plan (Parish Resources) – Purchase
  5. Sara Horn – My So Called Life as a Proverbs 31 Wife – NetGalley
  6. Catherine O’Flynn – The News Where You Are – BookMooch
  7. Raeanne Thayne – The Cowboy’s Christmas Miracle (Special Moments)/em> – BookMooch
  8. Raeanne Thayne – High-Risk Affair (Intrigue) – BookMooch
  9. Eric & Leslie Ludy – When Dreams Come True – Reread
  10. Max Lucado – It’s Not about Me: Rescue from the Life We Thought Would Make Us Happy (Lucado, Max) – BookSneeze
The Week Ahead:

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in June 2011 by Bluestocking.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (14)

  1. Heavy mailbox! enjoy the reads.

  2. I have never read one of these books, but I think it looks interesting. My blog adres is http://bokverdami.blogspot.com/ Here you can see what I have read the last time. Enjoy your reading!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting, Mai – You’re really on a Karen Kingsbury marathon just now, aren’t you? She’s an author I haven’t read – yet – but she’s written so many books I think it’ll be a while before you’re done 🙂

  3. You have quite a variety this week. Most are new to me. I do have a copy of Radio Shangri-La which I hope to get to sometime soon.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for the return visit, Leslie. Radio Shangri-La was quite good so do read the copy you have 🙂

  4. Enjoy all your reads. You have been super busy!

    Have a great week and stop by for a visit if you are interested in my Monday Post.

  5. I am having the same difficulty that you mention. More books are coming in than are being read. I am keeping up with the review books but just barely. I accepted 4 more last week but they haven’t arrived yet. My Monday Report is here. Happy reading!

  6. I hope your dad is doing well! It sounds like you’re having a great reading year!

  7. Great Mailbox! You’ve got a lot of reading ahead of you! Here’s my Mailbox.

  8. Your mailbox list reminded me that I have The News Where You Are somewhere around the house. I bought it when it was getting reviewed on book blogs and then forgot about it, I guess. But I’m pretty sure it’s around here somewhere. Now to find out where, haha. Enjoy all your new books 🙂

  9. First, glad to hear your Dad is doing better. Hope that continues. Nice mailbox. I haven’t read a Max Lucado book in quite a while. I’ll have to look into those. 🙂

  10. Enjoy your books and your re-reads. This was a rare week for me in that I finished a lot of review books. Come see what I finished.

  11. I am glad to hear your dad is doing better. You have a nice mailbox. I hope you enjoy all your new reads!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

