All things bookish!

The Back of the Book:  A mystic with a message for the New Millennium.

Shortly before the outbreak of World War II, a simple, uneducated, young Polish nun receives a special call.  Jesus tells her, ‘I am sending you with My mercy to the peopel of the whole world.  I do not want to punish mankind, but I desire to heal it, pressing it to My merciful Heart.’  Jesus also tells her to record His message of mercy in a diary:  ‘You are the secretary of My Mercy.  I have chosen you for that offrice in this and the next life.’

These words of Jesus are found in the Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy in My Soul, which chronicles Sr Faustina’s great experience of Divine Mercy in her soul and her mission to share that mercy with the world.

Though she died in obscurity in 1938, Sr Faustina is now hailed by Pope John Paul II as ‘the great apsotle of Divine Mercy in our time.’  On April 30, 2000, the Pope canonized her as St Faustina, saying that the message of Divine Mercy she shared is urgently needed at the dawn of the new millennium.  More than 800,000 copies of the Diary have been sold worldwide.

In the Diary, this woman mystic’s childlike trust, simplicity, and intimacy with Jesus will stir your heart and soul.  Her spiritual insights will surprise and reward you.  ‘Only love has meaning,’ she writes.  ‘It raises up our smallest actions into infinity.’

How did St Faustina grow in deeper trust and intimacy with Jesus?  What promises did He make to her?

Discover the answers to these questions and many more in the Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy in My Soul.

NotJustLaura’s Review:  I started this chunkster on holiday last November.  In fact, this was the only book I read that week and I was still only half-way through when it was time to come home.  A challenging read, it then languished until the end of May when I finally felt I could finish it.  I’m not really comfortable reviewing it in my usual manner – who am I to critique the writings of a Saint?  It was a long, hard slog with moments of illumination that made the slog worth it but I wouldn’t want to read it again any time soon.

Comments on: "Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska – Divine Mercy in my Soul – 2011/023" (3)

  1. Oh, that was so very honest. 🙂 I read a book like that lately…you’ve captured the experience exactly.

  2. Wow. It’s pretty impressive that you sat down and read through this whole book. For me, I read St. Faustina’s Diary every day; but, I only read a paragraph or so to meditate on during the day. I’ve never actually read through the whole thing as one would with a “normal” book.

  3. St. Faustina’s Diary was very important at a turning point in my spiritual life. I read some of it every day until I was finished and I definitely will read it again. The spirituality is a natural outgrowth of the devotion to the Sacred Heart that St. Margaret Mary Alacoque wrote about several hundred years earlier.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

