All things bookish!

NotJustLaura’s Review:  I requested a digital copy of this book from NetGalley because I’ve read other (fiction and non) books about the Amish people.  I’ve learned to love their simplicity and strong faith albeit while wearing my rose-coloured spectacles.  Mr Wagler made me put on my regular reading glasses and showed me a rather different picture of Amish life.

He is the son of a prominent member of the Amish community and, I think it’s fair to say, a rather angry young man.  Growing Up Amish: A Memoir is his account of doing just that – he tells the reader about his Amish childhood, his teenage rebellion, joining the Church and his final choice to leave or to stay.

This must have been a difficult book to write and I wonder if Mr Wagler has attempted to do so too soon.  There seems to be a lot of bitterness in some pages and, although he does not always cast himself as squeaky-clean, he does make some effort to justify his actions.  This really just made him seem immature to me but then was I any better in my teens and early twenties?  Somehow I doubt it.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

