All things bookish!

I am incredibly happy to have my reading mojo back so there are three reviews for you this week.

Friday saw the Royal Wedding in the UK and I needed something to do while half-watching it.  As all my books are out of their crates and shelved now I decided to catalogue them.  So far, I have over 600 waiting to be read.  Yes, that’s six-zero-zero.  Six hundred.  Last time I counted it was 400.  It’s obviously not my fault so I’m blaming Amazon, BookMooch and my Kindle.  I’m not finished counting yet but am already somewhat horrified.  If I read 100 a year that’s six years of reading.  And since I’ve been averaging 50 for the past few years it’s more likely to be 12 before I’m done.  At least I know I’m never likely to be stuck for something to read but action needs to be taken.  Look out for an announcement relating to a book diet in the near future!

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Claire Connor with G P Taylor – The Promise – 2011/014
  2. Noel Cooper – What Makes Us Whole – 2011/015
  3. Jacquelyn Cook – The River Between – 2011/016
Incoming Books:
  1. Brian Friel – Dancing at Lughnasa [OU]
  2. Emily Bronte – Wuthering Heights (Wordsworth Classics)  [OU]
  3. Marilyn French – The Women’s Room (Virago modern classics) [Library]
  4. John Webster – The Duchess of Malfi (New Mermaids) [OU]
  5. W G Sebald – The Emigrants [OU]
  6. Carl Anderson & Jose Granados – Called to Love: Approaching John Paul II’s Theology of the Body [Purchase]
  7. D L Bogdan – Rivals in the Tudor Court (Tudor Court 2) [Kindle pre-order]
The Week Ahead:
  1. Kristan Higgins – My One and Only (Hqn) [Currently reading]
  2. Douglas Leblanc – Tithing (Ancient Practices)
  3. Kelly Carmean – Creekside: An Archaeological Novel (Fire Ant Books)
  4. Susan Freinkel – Plastic: A Toxic Love Story
  5. Ira Wagler – Growing Up Amish PB
  6. Jane Gardam – Old Filth
  7. Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska – Diary of Saint Maria Faustina Kowalska: Divine Mercy in My Soul

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in May 2011 by Mari Reads.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (20)

  1. What a lovely haul of books!

  2. Wow, and I thought my tbr pile was big! Impressive! An impressive list of books too. The only one I have read is on your incoming list, Wuthering Heights, which I loved.

    • notjustlaura said:

      My pile is way to big – watch out for a post regarding a Book Diet later in the week, Karen.

  3. Nice variety and YAY for the return of your reading mojo 🙂

  4. Nice haul…love Wuthering Heights. Enjoy your books

    • notjustlaura said:

      I’ve never read it and don’t even really know what it’s about so hopefully I’m in for a treat!

  5. 600! That is crazy. I thought my 50 or so was a lot. Enjoy your books and thanks for sharing!

    • notjustlaura said:

      I’ve been collecting them for a long time, Mari! Fortunately, I’m a fast reader …

  6. Great list of books. I’d love to see your reviews of the Catholic titles linked to Sunday Snipppets–A Catholic Carnival on my blog. We are a group of Catholic bloggers who gather weekly to share posts. Some of the bloggers blog primarily on Catholic topics; others (like me) have other foci but Catholic posts.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting, RAnn. I love the idea of Sunday Snippets and have joined the Yahoo! reminder group to play next weekend.

  7. Enjoy ! your week of reading.

    Come by and see mine and giveaways.

  8. I can feel your pain with the to be read books. Mine have multiplied to that level also. It’s easy to do. Enjoy all those books.

  9. I’m so impressed to see The Duchess of Malfi on your list! I read it while working on my master’s in Renaissance Literature at the University of Alabama last year. I hope you enjoy it!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Don’t be too impressed, Jesse – The Duchess has arrived as a set book for a University course I’m thinking of doing.

  10. Old Filth… I listened to the audio book a few years back. I do want to re-read it in print form some day.

    Last week was all about finishing textbooks and relaxing with manga. Come see what I read.

    • notjustlaura said:

      I got Old Filth for a book group but didn’t actually manage to attend the meet. I don’t even know what it’s about so will be reading totally blind!

  11. I’m scared to count mine because I bet you I have about 600 too. I realized that I was getting more books than I was reading so I’ve been cutting back on the books I get. Or at least trying….. 😉 Interested to hear what your book diet is going to be.

    • notjustlaura said:

      I think you’ll like the book diet, Angie. The plan is made and the post is written. I think I’ve scheduled it for Thursday …

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

