All things bookish!

This Monday’s post covers the past fortnight rather than just one week.  I was ill last weekend and couldn’t read, write or do much of anything else.  It was very boring and I’m pleased to report that I’m very much on the mend now.

I only have one book review for you this time but it’s for a good ‘un from an author whose work I want to get to know better.  The incoming books’ list is rather longer than I would like but I have managed to persuade myself not to bring more books into the house as rewards or treats.  My good intentions will come to naught for the next couple of weeks though as I receive the set books for A230.

Returning to study also means I’ll have less time to read for pleasure but I’m hoping this will be balanced by my studying literature which is what I really want to study.  Previously, I’ve grudged time spent studying fairly random subjects as taking away from my reading.  It is my fervent hope that studying what I love (ie books) will keep me going.  The course doesn’t start until the beginning of October but I plan to read as many of the set texts as possible over the summer.  If you’d like to see what these texts are, click here and scroll down.

Books Read & Reviewed:

  1. Carolyn Custis James – Half the Church – 2011/013

Incoming Books:

  1. D H Lawrence – Lady Chatterley’s Lover (Wordsworth Classics) [BookMooch]
  2. M Scott Peck – The Road Less Travelled: A New Psychology of Love, Traditional Values and Spiritual Growth (Classic Edition) [BookMooch]
  3. Sarah Rayner – One Moment, One Morning [Purchase]
  4. Alexander McCall Smith – The Double Comfort Safari Club: The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency, Book 11 (No 1 Ladies Detective Agency11) [Purchase]
  5. Laura Ingalls Wilder – On the Banks of Plum Creek [Charity]
  6. Anne O’Brien – Virgin Widow (MIRA) [BookMooch]
  7. Anne Tyler – Earthly Possessions (Arena Books) [BookMooch]
  8. Liz Curtis Higgs – Mine Is the Night [Prize]
  9. Michael Ward – The Narnia Code [Prize]
  10. Karin Altenberg – Island of Wings [Purchase]
  11. Shakespeare – THE OXFORD SHAKESPEARE: Othello: The Moor of Venice [OU]

The Week Ahead:

  1. Claire Connor with G P Taylor – The Promise (Lipstick Confessions 2) [Currently reading]
  2. Noel Cooper – What Makes Us Whole: Finding God in Contemporary Life
  3. Victoria Bylin – The Bounty Hunter’s Bride (Love Inspired Historical)
  4. Douglas Leblanc – Tithing (Ancient Practices)
  5. Erin Healy – The Promises She Keeps
  6. Tom Wright – Surprised by Hope
  7. Liz Curtis Higgs – Mine Is the Night

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in April 2011 by Passages to the Past.

 

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (23)

  1. What an enormous haul and such good ones too! enjoy all your books.

  2. It looks like you’re in for some good reading

  3. I am going to check out your review for Half The Church…. we read Lady Chatter;ys Lover for book club a couple years back.

    • laura0141 said:

      Did you enjoy Lady Chatterley, Sheila? I read Sons and Lovers a short while ago and really didn’t enjoy it.

  4. Wow, The Road Less Traveled is one that was all the rage back in the day…I think about those ideas every now and then.

    Hope you enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  5. Wow, you sound like one busy young lady! Hope you’re feeling better. Have a great week and happy reading. My MM is here .

  6. A Laura Ingalls Wilder book…how nice. I need to go back and reread all of those. Hope you enjoy your treasures and glad you are on the mend!

    • notjustlaura said:

      I’ve read them all so many times, Kay, but I’m going to PC the ones I’m collecting now 🙂

  7. I love Laura Ingalls Wilder. I read her books over and over again as a child. I should revisit them as an adult. Enjoy all your new reads and hope you are feeling better!

    • notjustlaura said:

      I did too, Beth. I’m still re-reading them so maybe I never really grew up?!

  8. Michelle Vasquez said:

    I also have Mine is The Night in my TBR pile. You got some great books! Enjoy!

  9. Some familiar titles there but none that I’ve read yet. Have a great week reading.

  10. Enjoy your reading with these great books.

    stop and see mine and my giveaways.

  11. Nice incoming books list! Enjoy 🙂

  12. As this week I was mostly writing for my projects, my list of finished books isn’t as bloated with homework.. Come see what I finished.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

