All things bookish!

Booking Through Thursday is ‘a weekly meme about (mostly) books and reading.’  This week’s question is:

Series? Or Stand-alone books?

I like both.  But series need to be read in the correct order and I often find the author’s idea has been done to death half-way through.  This is always a disappointment.

Comments on: "Booking Through Thursday: Series" (8)

  1. Definitely agree about series having to be read in the right order – I don’t know how people can just drop in in the middle.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/03/booking-through-thursday-10.html

    • notjustlaura said:

      Funny thing is that I used to be able to read books in any order as a child. But that was when I was limited to what was available from the library. Since I’ve grown up and found Amazon it’s a different story!

  2. I agree, it does need to be read in the correct order. I picked up one of James Patterson books before and thought it was a stand a lone book by the description. I read and it and liked it then found out I was reading the 3rd book in a series. I tried starting over but it wasn’t the same. I forget what book that was too. :/

    • notjustlaura said:

      I’ve had that happen to me a couple of times Victoria and it spoils the whole series 😦

  3. I agree with the series being over done as the story goes. This happened with Patricia Cornwell novels. But I would still rather read a series.
    Natalie :0)
    http://www.thebookinn.net

    • notjustlaura said:

      The more I think about it the more I think I prefer stand-alones, Natalie. But then I think of the series I’ve really loved and …!

  4. They do need to be read in order in most cases but there are some, like the Harry Potter series, that I think you would find don’t run dry part way through the series.

    I like them both. Find out why.

    • laura0141 said:

      Uuum … Harry Potter was one which I got bored with part way through. Maybe I just read them too close together?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

