All things bookish!

Books Read & Reviewed:

Although I’ve read two books this week, I’ve only found time to write the review for one (where does all the time go?)  Made to Crave is really excellent though – I’ve just ordered myself the participant’s guide and plan to work through it over the next few months.  I’ll write up my review of Karen Armstrong’s second volume of autobiography next week.

  1. Lysa TerKeurst – Made to Crave – 2011/009

Incoming Books:

It’s been a good week for book acquisitions – most of these come courtesy of BookMooch.

  1. Diane Setterfield – The Thirteenth Tale
  2. Kate Morton – The House at Riverton
  3. Joseph Conrad – Heart of Darkness
  4. Lynn Austin  – Candle in the Darkness (Refiner’s Fire)
  5. Joseph C Aldrich – Life Style Evangelism

The Week Ahead:

Yesterday saw the commencement of ‘star’ week so I’m not feeling very well.  And, of course, giving up caffeine for Lent has brought on a headache which will last a while longer.  The good news is that this (and the snow!) give me the perfect excuse to snuggle up with William-cat and read to my heart’s content!

  1. Charles Foster – The Sacred Journey (Currently Reading)
  2. Amy Clipston – A Gift of Grace
  3. Leslie Ludy – Authentic Beauty
  4. Claire Connor with G P Taylor – The Promise
  5. Mike Aquilina – The Mass of the Early Christians
  6. Victoria Bylin – The Bounty Hunter’s Bride
  7. Tom Wright – Surprised by Hope

What are you reading this week?

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in March 2011 by I’m Booking It.

 

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (23)

  1. I liked the Kate Morton and the Thirteenth Tale but I just did not take to Heart of Darkness. I read this as a text for A Level literature in school. Maybe I did not appreciate it much at that age and I should go back to it now.

    • laura0141 said:

      Hi Mystica

      I encountered Heart of Darkness at Uni and didn’t like it but thought I’d give it another chance. I think it’s a shame these works are ‘spoiled’ by education.

      Laura

  2. The House at Riverton has been on my wishlist for a while now – I heard a lot of good things about it, but didn’t find it in any of the local bookstores yet! Happy reading!

    Take a look at what’s in my Mailbox this week!

    • laura0141 said:

      Hope you can get a copy of The House at Riverton. Mine came from BookMooch – have you tried there?

  3. Diane Setterfield and Kate Morton books are excellent! No caffeine, wow! I gave up snacking between meals. Hang in there!

    Here’s mine:

    http://bookbelle0819.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

    I’m a new follower.

    Belle

    • notjustlaura said:

      Hi Belle – thanks for visiting. The no caffeine is for my own good as I drink far too much and it’s easier to cut it out altogether than to try and moderate my intake. Wishing you well with the snacking – that’s seriously frightening! Laura

  4. I hope you have a great week in books!

  5. The House at Riverton has been on my Kobo for a month or so I can’t wait to have a little space in my reading ‘schedule’ to get to it! You can find my What are you reading post here:
    http://handsandhome.blogspot.com/2011/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

  6. Nice books for bookmooch, enjoy!

    • laura0141 said:

      BookMooch is great, Mary – only thing is I seem to have more books coming in than I’ve given away!

  7. Nice books – wow you will be busy 🙂 Enjoy!

  8. A Gift of Grace is good.

    • laura0141 said:

      I started it this afternoon RAnn and it’s certainly good so far – I’m looking forward to settling down with it after dinner 🙂

  9. I read A Candle in the Darkness a few years ago and I really enjoyed it. Sounds like you have some good reading weather. Enjoy! I’m back to reading Jane Eyre and the poor girl just found out about Mr. Rochester’s secret. Don’t want to spoil it for anybody. 😉

    • laura0141 said:

      Just realised yesterday that Candle in the Darkness is a duplicate – oops! But I’ll put it back on Amazon and find it a new home. Enjoy your Jane Eyre – poor Jane – she’s a hard time to go through.

  10. You got some nice books via Bookmooch – I still need to check that site out. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

    • laura0141 said:

      I really do recommend BookMooch, Wendi – a great way to get rid of what you’ve read and won’t read again.

  11. Thirteenth Tale was fantastic! I saw on Goodreads she has another book coming out later this year and I can’t wait. Happy reading!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting, Holly. I’m looking forward to The Thirteenth Tale – hope you enjoy her next book just as much.

  12. Some of those books are on my wishlist! I’ve heard good things about The House at Riverton! Enjoy your week!

    • notjustlaura said:

      The House at Riverton has been really well reviewed, hasn’t it, Aths? I finally gave in and got a copy although it’s not something I was instantly drawn to reading.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

