All things bookish!

It’s a funny old world.  I’ve had to make some big decisions this week as family members have been experiencing health problems whose impact is likely to be felt over the next few months.  The good news is that I’ll have more time for reading (see the seven books I’m aiming for at the bottom of this post!) and the bad is that a degree in English is that little bit further away.  I’ll get there one day.  In the meantime, I plan to focus on family, reading and writing.

There are two reviews for you this week.  The James MacDonald has felt particularly relevant at times!  And who could resist a bit of Elf-Help?  I hope you enjoy them.

My logging of Incoming Books has rather gone awry but those listed have come in recently and I don’t think you’ve seen them before.

Lent begins this Wednesday and I’ve decided to try and read only Christian fiction and non-fiction over the season.  I’ll probably alternate fiction with non- and that’s certainly reflected in the books I’ve selected for The Week Ahead.  I doubt I’ll get through a book a day, mind you, but it’s nice to know it’s possible!

I’m looking forward to a week curled up with my cats and my books.  How about you?

Books Read and Reviewed:

  1. James MacDonald – When Life is Hard – 2011/007
  2. Linus Mundy – Elf-Help for Overcoming Depression – 2011/008

Incoming Books:

  1. Victoria Bylin – The Bounty Hunter’s Bride (Love Inspired Historical)
  2. Bill Bryson – Mother Tongue
  3. Alain de Botton – The Pleasures and Sorrows of Work
  4. Christine Dwyer Hickey – Tatty
  5. Lysa Terkeurst – Made to Crave
  6. Tom Wright – Lent for Everyone: Matthew Year A
  7. Simon Van Booy – Secret Lives of People in Love, The
  8. Linus Mundy – Help for Depression (Elf Self Help)

The Week Ahead:

  1. Lysa Terkeurst – Made to Crave
  2. Karen Armstrong – The Spiral Staircase
  3. The Sacred Journey – This is a book from BookSneeze.  I’m realising I need to list author as well as title on my Gant Chart!
  4. Amy Clipston – A Gift of Grace: A Novel (Kauffman Amish Bakery) (Kauffman Amish Bakery Series)
  5. Leslie Ludy – Authentic Beauty: The Shaping of a Set-Apart Young Woman
  6. Claire Connor with G P Taylor – The Promise (Lipstick Confessions 2)
  7. Mike Aquilina – The Mass of the Early Christians

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in March 2011 by I’m Booking It.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (19)

  1. You had a brilliant week and another lined up, happy reading and have a fabulous week. My Monday: http://www.rundpinne.com/2011/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-29.html

  2. Dealing with family health problems can really take a toll. My 98 year old dad’s health has been going down hill for several years, and the impact on my sister and I has been quite difficult. Hang in there. You have some great books lined up this week. Hope you enjoy them!

    • laura0141 said:

      Thanks Jan – it’s a difficult time but we’ll get through as I’m sure you and your family will also.

  3. I hope all goes well with you and your family and that you have a great week in books!

  4. You have a great idea with your reading over Lent. And the books you have listed look wonderful!

    • laura0141 said:

      Christian reading over Lent was suggested by an RCIA teacher last year. This is the first year I’ve tried it and I’m really looking forward to the experience 🙂

  5. You have a fair amount of reading to do. Enjoy.

  6. The Bounty Hunter’s Bride sounds like a nice read. Enjoy reading!

    Take a look at what’s In My Mailbox this week.

  7. Lots of good books there! Happy reading and I hope your family will all be well very soon.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting, Lee – I’ve just finished the first on the list so look out for a review later in the week!

  8. I would love to spend the week curled up with my cats and a good book! But that isn’t going to happen so I guess I will have to let you enjoy reading with the cats for me. 🙂

    • laura0141 said:

      I shall be sure and tell you all about it, Angie – keep an eye on FaceBook!

  9. I finished more K to 3 books for my project, some short stories and at last, Kraken. Come see what I’m reading now.

  10. I need to read something by Simon Van Booy. Have a good week!

    • laura0141 said:

      I’ve not met him before, Mary – I’m not even sure where I heard about his book or what it’s about! It’ll be a while before I get to read it too but there will be a review here when I have :0

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

