All things bookish!

It’s been a difficult week – my father’s been in hospital – but I do have one review for you today.  The School at the Chalet is a girls’ boarding school story written between the wars and the first of a series I constantly return to.  I’ve decided to keep this copy of the book for my Permanent Collection as seem to buy a copy every two or three years!

We’re expecting my father to go back into hospital – possibly next week – for a heart bypass.  I’m not sure if this will mean that I read lots as a distraction or little because I’ll be too busy.  I’m currently reading a review copy of When Life is Hard by James MacDonald so at least I’ve got something very apt to be going on with!  Next up is a NetGalley copy of Plastic by Susan Freinkel.

It’s nearly Lent – I think it starts on Wednesday, 9th March – so I’m thinking about the books I’ll use for that.  I’m very taken with the idea of only reading Christian books (fiction or non) for the season and, of course, I’ll be sorting out a Lenten devotional to work through.  I failed miserably with this last year but am resolved to do better this time around.

Books Read and Reviewed:

  1. Elinor M Brent-Dyer – The School at the Chalet – 2011/006

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly blog event hosted by Sheila at BookJourney.

 

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading?" (2)

  1. You gave your blog a face lift! Looks really nice. 🙂

    I’ll be keeping your dad in my prayers. ((hugs))

    Sounds like you have some reading lined up. 🙂 I’m still reading Jane Eyre.

    • laura0141 said:

      Hey sweetie

      Yep, blog’s all changed and I like it too 🙂

      Thanks for the prayers re my dad – it’s a worrying time for us all.

      I got a Kindle version of Jane Eyre after you mentioned it so I have that to look forward to as well!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

