All things bookish!

Teaser Tuesday

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

This week’s Teaser comes to you from D H Lawrence’s Sons and Lovers:

“She never thought she’d have me, mother, not from the first, and so she’s not disappointed.”

“I’m afraid,” said his mother, “she doesn’t give up hopes of you yet.”

Comments on: "Teaser Tuesday" (14)

  1. I still haven’t read any D.H. Lawrence but must do so at some point. Interesting teaser. Thanks. My TT http://www.ephemeraldigest.co.uk/2011/02/tuesday-teaser-50-spiritual-classics/

  2. I have never read D. L. Lawrence either. That sounds like a strange thing to be discussing with your mother, maybe a best friend. Interesting teaser today.

    • notjustlaura said:

      I wouldn’t be discussing it with my mother either, Gigi Ann but the whole situation is rather strange!

  3. I really must read this one…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TEASER

    • laura0141 said:

      Don’t be in too much of a hurry to read it, Laurel – it’s dark and dull. I’m nearly 75% of the way through and I can’t think of anything nice that’s happened in it!

  4. I like D.H. Lawrence and that teaser is fabulous. Thanks for sharing.

    My Teaser is a little different.

    Jessica @ Laugh Love Write

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting, Jessica. I’m really not that impressed with him – Sons and Lovers is a bit of a slog!

  5. Interesting teaser but it doesn’t sound like your enjoying it….so I don’t think i will be putting this one on my wish list. 😉

    Here’s mine: http://neveradullmoment-angie.blogspot.com/2011/02/teaser-tuesday.html

    • laura0141 said:

      Lovely to see you Angie 🙂

      No, I’m not enjoying it and, in all honesty, I think you’d hate it even more than I do! Life’s too short. If I hadn’t got so far through it before realising it wasn’t going to get better I’d have given up. I’ve yet to adapt my 50 Page Rule to the Kindle!

  6. That is one bad thing about the Kindle…no page numbers. Ever since you told me about your 50 page rule I’ve been using it. 🙂 Haven’t yet figured out what the Kindle rule should be yet.

    • laura0141 said:

      I’m thinking of making a 10% Rule for Kindle books. Or making a habit of downloading the first (free) chapter and reading that before making a purchase. A chapter isn’t much to go on but if a book’s so bad that the chapter puts you off then it’s probably a lost cause anyway!

  7. Donna/BLHmistress said:

    Sorry you’re not enjoying it , may your next read be better.

    Teaser Tuesday

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks Donna. I’m looking forward to my next one already as it’s an author I’ve read before and loved 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

