All things bookish!

Books Read & Reviewed:

I have one review for you this week.  Ms Armstrong is fast becoming a favourite author and this book is one of the most scholarly I’ve ever made it through.  I’d recommend it to anyone with an interest in religion.

Incoming Books:

I’ve pulled in my horns somewhat this week with only two acquisitions.  But it won’t last!

  1. Charles Dickens – A Tale of Two Cities – Kindle
  2. St Augustine – Confessions – Kindle

Reading Plan:

In an effort to spend more time doing what I love (as opposed to playing on FaceBook!) I’ve written myself a new schedule.  It has slots for studying, Bible study, writing and reading (books, magazines, newspapers).  Of course, there’s also some free time in there and I’m likely to use that for reading books whenever possible!  I only have one hour a day formally dedicated to books though so I’m going to abandon writing a list until I’m done studying for the summer (this will buy me three more dedicated book hours).  Instead, I’ll give you a little summary of what I’m hoping to achieve book-wise and let you know how I got on in the following week’s It’s Monday! post.

I remain determined to finish Sons and Lovers.  I’m just over 70% of the way through (and I love how my Kindle tells me this in an objective manner).  I hope to finish it this week as I really would like to move on to reading something I’ll enjoy!  Usually I’d have abandoned something so awful by now (it’s just dark, dark, dark with added gloom) but my stubborn streak is keeping me going.  I’m actually feeling rather disappointed that I don’t like it as I really like the Lawrence poetry I’ve been studying.

After Sons and Lovers it’ll be some more Karen Armstrong, I think, with her Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life.  I’m expecting a lighter (but no less scholarly) read and am sure she won’t let me down.

What are you reading this week?

* * *

It’s Monday!  What are you Reading? is a weekly meme hosted by BookJourney.  Mailbox Monday is another weekly meme hosted in January 2011 by Rose City Reader.

Comments on: "It’s Monday! What are you Reading? & Mailbox Monday" (27)

  1. A Tale of Two Cities is amazing. I really, really, really loved that book. Enjoy reading! And hopefully you can keep up with the new schedule. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox!

    • Thanks for visiting, Majanka.

      I saw bits of a BBC dramatisation of A Tale of Two Cities many years ago and have always meant to read the book. A friend’s recently finished it and that jogged my memory 🙂

  2. Great looking books…I enjoy that part of the Kindle, too…telling what percentage of the book you’ve read. It seems to make the read faster, for some reason. LOL

    Here’s my MAILBOX/READING

  3. Enjoy your books this week. I have never read A Tale Of Two Cities – I should fix that 🙂

    • laura0141 said:

      It has one of my favourite quotations, Sheila:

      It is a far better thing …

      and I’m really looking forward to seeing it in context 🙂

  4. You very organised! I have a lot to do for college too, but I haven’t planned my days. 🙂 Maybe I should!

    I haven’t read A Tale of Two Cities, but I hope you will love it.

    Have a wonderful Monday!

    • laura0141 said:

      Hi Nina – thanks for visiting.

      I have a strong element of obsessiveness in my character. I tend to decide to do X and then spend 15 hours doing it while totally neglecting Y because that just doesn’t seem important (even though it is!) The schedule seems the best way of achieving some kind of balance. If you try it, let me know!

      Laura

  5. good luck with your reading plans

    • laura0141 said:

      Thanks for visiting, Mary Ann. Admission looks really good, doesn’t it? I wishlisted it when I saw your post this morning. For some reason, Blogspot’s not accepting my OpenId 😦

  6. No way would I spend that much time reading something I didn’t like. That’s what’s nice about not being in school anymore 🙂

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting Ann. I guess I’m seeing Sons and Lovers as self-improvement rather than reading for pleasure. Does that make sense?

  7. Good luck with your schedule, and enjoy your books!

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for commenting, Laura. The schedule’s gone pear-shaped today but tomorrow’s a whole new 24 hours, right?

  8. I hope you accomplish your reading goals. School and free reading time can be hard.

  9. I love your plan! Isn’t facebook aweful? I mean that in the nicest way… because it is so easy to get sucked in and lose whole parts of the day. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

    • laura0141 said:

      Thanks for that Wendy. I wouldn’t mind faffing so much if it didn’t suck me away from the things I *really* want to do. And Facebook is the biggest faff-monster in my life! I love it, love my friends there but still – it’s a bit like having a coffee-shop full of your favourite people in your living room, isn’t it?

  10. I’m thinking Twelve Steps to a Compassionate Life should be on my TBR, too.

  11. I’d like to see what you think of St.Augustine.

    • Thanks, Mystica. In migraine-land at the moment so St A is a bit beyond me! I’ll be reviewing it when it’s read though although it may be a while before it gets to the top of my bundle!

  12. I’d like to see what you think of St.Augustine. My mailbox was only one book this week but a real winner.

  13. I’m not a fan of the classics (Dickens) but I do love my ereaders (Kindle & Nook). Good luck with your reading plan and enjoy your books.

    • notjustlaura said:

      Thanks for visiting Marcia. I’m liking my Kindle more and more. We don’t have Barnes & Noble in the UK so no Nooks for us. It’s such a cute name, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

