All things bookish!

I obtained this book for review from netGalley.

Mr MacDonald has a gift for expressing the love and mercy of God to the reader in simple, informal language.  In fact, I sometimes felt his language a little too informal although it certainly makes this an accessible book for anyone – going through a difficult time or not.

The reader is introduced to five truths about God and five promises He has made.  Mr MacDonald works through each one, drawing on his Biblical scholarship – this is an author who knows his stuff.  Each section also gives some homework and suggests an appropriate Bible verse for memorisation.

As I’d not read any of Mr MacDonald’s previous work, I’d have liked to know a bit more about him.  I understand he’s written more about his personal circumstances in an earlier book but maybe an ‘About the Author’ introduction would have been helpful.  That said, I’ll be adding his other books to my wishlist just as soon as I’m finished writing this revew!

* * *

CymLowell

Comments on: "James MacDonald – Always True – 2011/002" (4)

  1. Hi Laura~
    I enjoyed reading your post about Always True and wanted to let you know that the first book is When Life is Hard, released a year ago. In that book he tells about some very difficult circumstances he experienced over several years, and how he coped. Always True is an excellent follow up to that book. Since I work for the publisher, I would be happy to send you a free copy so you can share it with your readers. Janis

    • notjustlaura said:

      Hi Janis

      Thanks so much for commenting. I’ve actually put When Life is Hard on my wishlist so I’d jump at the chance of a review copy. Is it possible for this to be a Kindle version or would you like me to email you with my address (I live in Scotland)?

      Best wishes and many thanks.

      Laura

  2. Dropping by from Cym Lowell’s Book Party.

    http://silversolara.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

