All things bookish!

The Beauty of Reading

I just stumbled across this picture of a woman reading on another blog and had to share it with you.  Isn’t it beautiful?

There are so many things I could say about the beauty of reading.  I love it because it’s a solitary pursuit, it’s quiet, it stills the mind.  And yet there’s a whole reading community out there if you choose to look for it, I always have music in the background as I read and, generally, come away with a whole lot of new ideas to contemplate.  Reading is full of paradoxes.

My favourite thing about reading at the moment is the focus it gives me.  My anxiety levels seem high just now and it’s all too easy to allow myself to be trapped inside my own head feeling anxious about feeling anxious.  Instead, I’m choosing to read and read and read.  It really does help – more than passively watching TV or listening to the radio.  I wonder if I could get a prescription for Amazon?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

